Other New Player Changes Suggestion?

Welcome to Project Crescent
It's so awesome to see you. Sign up and join the party!

West African Boner Wizard

Lurker
Crescent Plus
Hi All!

Although I am relatively new to the server, I am not new to TTT. Despite the fact that I was experienced enough to get up and running on the server by myself, I find that a lot of new players end up joining the server and being overwhelmed by content errors as well as all the exciting new systems that make Crescent TTT what it is.

My two suggestions to help appease this and maybe incentivize new players to play the server more:

1. Create a more comprehensive tutorial on troubleshooting errors for new players
With so much custom content in the server, people with less experience running this kind of thing in garrysmod can become confused and honestly, most of the time, will leave the server for a more vanilla experience. To alleviate this, I believe that when new players load in to the server for the first time, there should be an on-screen prompt indicating that they should open their F3 menu to familiarize themselves with it and acquire their starter items. It seems like a lot of the time new players end up playing a while before noticing this even exists.

Furthermore, within this first time in the menu, I believe there could be a prompt added helping people troubleshoot their missing content/textures, explaining to use the !content command, etc.

2. Upgrade the beginner crates to a purple primary and a purple secondary
Another point of conflict with new players joining the server is the skill disparity and confusion that comes along with such a comprehensive weapon modding system. I believe that introducing the idea of a weapon traits at the start of their Crescent Journey will not only help them understand weapon traits faster, but also create a larger player base faster as people will be more likely to stick around in the server to see what the hell their gun does.